Home

This is a journal entry (from my Facebook posts) of sorts, in memorial of three Hyenas, Shenzi, Banzi and Ed.  I want and will remember them. May you rest in peace, precious Hyena~AnimalKin.  We all tried to save you but forces were tragically against us and you.

Last week, in one of my notorious wanderings of the internet, I came across a nearly month-old plea for help.

tf 06042016 shenzi banzi ed hyenas==============================================================

June 2, 2016  8:53am  Hi Everyone,

I know that not everyone finds the Hyena love-able but they have really captured my fascination of late. Yesterday I stumbled across this campaign (link is below) where basically there are three Hyenas that were part of a program and the program closed. These Hyenas cannot survive in the Wild and face being euthanized for simply being alive.

I know you and I have very few coins available to share and there are so many organizations out here doing good and needing help. I get to feeling overwhelmed with it all, too. Still, I hope you will join me in sharing even if it’s just a few coins with these Hyenas. It’s not their fault they are in the position they’re in and they shouldn’t have to die.

If you’re not able to donate, and I definitely can relate, please share the message along. They only have til this Saturday (June 4th).

Thanks, All, and Bless your good hearts!

Cap’n Toni with my Coco and Maya pups and All the Animal Kids of the lil Haus…

https://www.generosity.com/…/help-daniell-cheetah-project-s…

==============================================================

June 3 2016, 8:33am  Hello All!

I thank Y’All again so very much for sharing your care in whatever way you can for these precious Hyenas. By the way, their names are Shenzi and Banzi and Ed (I know, “Ed” – too cute). I am working on getting a hold of the organization involved to get an update, especially with the deadline so close at hand. They are likely quite busy over there and not likely sitting at the computer. However, the ~moment~ I hear anything, I will share along with you! Bless your good hearts and thank you!

Cap’n Toni with my Coco and Maya pups and All the Animal Kids of the lil Haus…

(my letter to the organization)
Hello Daniell Cheetah Project
Thank you for all the good you work hard to do.
I’ve been trying to help campaign for these precious Hyena and especially being so close to the deadline for Shenzi, Banzi and Ed, please give us an update on how they are doing, how the project is doing, is there some contingency plan in place just in case the funding goal isn’t completely reached?
Thank you, Bless your good hearts and your good work.
Toni…
Pennsylvania, USA…

==============================================================

June 3, 2016 4:02pm   Oh, Folks, …

…I can’t even barely write this. These precious Hyena were killed. I’m so heartbroken sick, I can’t even write in correct sentences right now. Dammit, dammit, dammit. They did ~not~ have to die. I cannot understand how people can be so damned awful.

I’ll try to write more later if I can.

Meanwhile, thank you All for your good thoughts and care and trying to help.

Bless your good hearts, All,
Toni…

(I’ll add in the taggings [later])

==============================================================

June 3, 2016 5:54pm  So I’m trying…

…to work through my thoughts and emotions on the situation with Ed, Shenzi and Banzi Hyenas. I will admit to you All that when I first shared about their situation, I had an uneasy feeling. I hoped though that I was wrong, that I was just being dramatic and worried, and that certainly these three innocent beings would be alright. Well…

In the meantime of me trying to sort out my head and heart, I promised y’all an update and here [is] the link is for that.

Note: sensitive persons will certainly feel upset that these precious beings lost their lives, and may wish to not read the attachment. It’s not gory, but it is sad.

http://daniellcheetahproject.com/hyena-update-sad-news/

Rest in Peace, Ed, Shenzi and Banzi Hyenas; Bless your good Spirits. I am sorry that some of the hominids are just horrible, [and] that they/we weren’t able to keep you safe from horrible humans’ harm. Bless the hearts of the good Folks that tried as hard as they could to save you.

Blessings…
Cap’n Toni…
==============================================================

Jill  (June 3, 2016, 6:57pm) writes:  What I would like to know is if they are going after the person who shot the 2 that were in an enclosure and had no way to safely hide?

Jane (June 3, 2016, 7:12pm) writes: Omg my heart is breaking in pieces.
Me (June 4, 2016, 8:23am)
Yes, Jane, my heart did likewise. I ended up having three beers last night and a long sleep-off, primarily because of having to contend with a severe realization of helplessness, and rage and sorrow for the apparent senselessness of the loss of their lives.
Jill, my instincts are telling me probably not. The laws over there are rather different, as well the amount of resources to enforce laws tend to be sporadically available. That said however, their law enforcement may indeed surprise us all and go after the murderers involved.

However, and I’m trying to say this as gently but honestly as I can here, it’s kind of easy in a way to fault the murderers for their obvious cruelty, but there is more, as it were, blame to share around.

The now defunct program where Shenzi, Banzi and Ed had been brought to and kept in captivity, [was] obviously[?] not proactive enough to have a contingency plan in place for when their program would be shut/ended.

The tragedy of this situation also rather severely brought back to my mind the contemplation of what contingency plan do ~I~ have in place for the Animal Kids with me. So there is that to contend with as well.

Thank you also to Bill, and Charles, and Debbie, for your tender responding to the news here.

I am still quite upset over the whole situation and of course still coming to terms with it in my own little mind.

I appreciate very much being able to share with you All here that are of similar mind and heart [, it] is very much a precious Blessing.

I send out prayers to Shenzi, Banzi and Ed, for their Spirits, that they might rest in peace.

Thank you and Bless your good hearts, All.
Cap’n Toni….

Jane (June 4, 2016, 8:27am) Get some rest my friend. Hope to work together with you again
Me (June 4, 2016, 8:35 am) Bless your precious heart, Jane.

Two things. :} One, I am awake now; lots of tasks that need taking care of. Sometimes it’s cruel that time keeps moving forward no matter what happens. That can be a hard thing to cope with as well.

Two, I am holding to the belief there will be more opportunities down the road and those I hope and pray will have positive results. Sometimes these just don’t work out the way we hope and want, and it is a quite difficult heartbreak to come to terms with it then.

But, because I have to, I am leveraging hard the Spirit of Hope that there will be better outcomes down the road.

==============================================================

(June 4, 2016, 8:47am)  Okay, All,…

…I am going to share with you something that the Daniell Cheetah Project wrote just a couple of hours ago, and I hope you might read their words.

I think when emotions are running strong, as of course emotions would be when we care and are trying to help, that it’s especially important and hopefully valuable to learn the back-story. And that is my singular hope, is to offer something even a little bit helpful in this very difficult situation.

their post:
Daniell Cheetah Project Dear Martin, we are very sorry that you feel this way, we have not been fooling anyone and so no one has to feel fooled. This happened in circumstance buyond our control. If you read the info on the link about what happened to the hyenas you would know that the owner had to relocate all of animals due to new ownership of the land, but nature conservation would not allow them to move the hyenas outside of the Eastern Cape. The new land owner is a stock farmer and therefore had no interest in the hyena (as well as not having any permits on his name for hyena). We had already started construction on an enclosure for them but they were shot before it could be compleated. If our donors permit us, we would still like to continue with an awareness project for the spotted hyenas that were illegally shot and killed. If any of the donors feel like they would not like to supports this anymore they are more than welcome to contact us for a refund. If you feel the need to follow up on the events or do not believe us please feel free to check the facts before badmouthing any efforts we have made. Owner of the dead hyenas Will 0828789268, the vet Dr Elmien Kotze 0719861931, Kalahari Game capture team 0718573806 as well as Mr Mike Eksteen from the Eastern Cape Nature conservation department 0415085822. Regards DCP Red Paw Emergency Relief Team

(June 4, 2016, 9:06am) My comment to their post:
~~~
Dear Daniell Cheetah Project,
~~~
Thank you for stepping up and at least trying to help Shenzi, Banzi and Ed. You could’ve just shrugged the situation off, but you chose instead to try and help, and you are to be commended for this.
~~~
I can see that the situation was utterly out of your control, though I know that one of your Team pleaded desperately with the people out there to not harm Shenzi, Banzi and Ed. I know that your Team member told those folks out there that these three were on their way to a new home and that it was merely a few days and they would be at their new home. I know your Team member begged those people to not hurt them. I know.
~~~
Because I believe absolutely that your hearts are in the right place in terms of trying to care and provide for these Animal Kin, I will be making another donation.
~~~
Hyenas, as well as many Animal Kin, are under threat of human animal encroachment. Your and others similar programs of education, preservation and conservation are very much critically needed.
~~~
There are quite sadly many people out there who have no love for Hyenas and that breaks my heart, for Hyenas are beautiful, complicated, intelligent, amazing Animal Kin.
~~~
All here who are aware, know that there are sadly many other Hyenas out there that need help. Shenzi, Banzi and Ed were three. I pray that their deaths will not be in vain and that is why, with tears still flowing from my heart for their precious lives, that I will be making another donation.
~~~~
Bless your good hearts and all the good you try to do and do for the/our Hyenas and All Animal Kin.
~~~~
Toni…
Pennsylvania, USA…

==============================================================
I’m still reeling and there are still tears falling from all of this.  I’m still terribly angry and my heart is sick with hurting deeply.  Even though the tears falling from my eyes and my words feel utterly useless, still there they are.  I don’t know what else to do but weep and write, and pray.
Bless your precious Spirits, Shenzi, Banzi and Ed.
Cap’n Toni…
tf 06042016 shenzi banzi ed hyenas
Leave a Reply

